Ex LNER A4 Pacific 'Union of South Africa' leaving Carnforth for Carlisle.




Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

Valid CSS!


2017 Pairs Table Quiz: Archived - 15 March 2018

Date: - Monday, 18 December 2017.

Venue: - Railway Club, Lancaster.

Time: - 8.30 pm until (around) 10.15 pm.

Format: - 3 Rounds of 25 questions.

Prizes: - Two medals/trophies for the highest scoring pair in Divs 1, 2 and 3 respectively.

The Alan Peel Trophy:- Awarded to the highest scoring of the 3 divisional winners.

Composition of Pairs: - Pairs may comprise members of the same LCQL team or of different teams. In the latter case, if the LCQL teams are in different divisions the pair will play for the prize in the higher division. Where an individual arrives with no partner, he/she may (if possible) form a pair with another player in the same position. Equally, if desired, a LCQL player may partner a person who does not play in the LCQL.

Cup Competitions: Archived - 15 March 2018

The format for this season's Cup Competitions is as follows:-

Each competition will comprise 18 teams.

Dennis Wigham:
The 11 teams from Division 1 and the 7 top teams in Division 2 after the Week 13 fixtures have been played.

Tony Clare:
The lower 5 teams in Division 2 after the Week 13 fixtures have been played and the 13 teams from Division 3.

Each competition will have 3 pools of 4 teams and 2 pools of 3 teams. As last season, the top 2 in the 4-team pools and only the winners of the 3-team pools will contest the quarter-finals.

The 3 Pool Weeks will commence on 8th January 2018 and finish on 22nd January 2018.

Question Setting:
Please be aware that any team not shown on the 2017-18 League Question Setting Roster will be considered as question setters for the Pool Weeks.

End of Season Presentation and Social Night Archived - 15 March 2018

Attendance at this annual end of season event has been falling in recent years and the turnout was particularly low on 9 June this year.

Organising this event comes at a cost, both in financial and effort terms, so it is disappointing when it is not well supported by the league membership.

The Committee are concerned that attendance may be affected by the timing of the evening, coming as it does some weeks after the end of the season and at a time when members may be engaged in non-quiz activities, holidays and the like.

If you have any suggestions regarding a more convenient time for the evening, or any other comments about its format etc please contact or email the Secretary (see the Contacts Page for contact details).

Week 4 Quiz Decision: Archived - 3 November 2017

The Committee have decided to expunge the Round 4 scores from this quiz. It was felt that as the round was not played in all fixtures and given the different methods by which the Round 4 scores had been determined in those that did, then having a weekly average score based on them was untenable. League records have been amended accordingly. Winners, losers and the one drawn fixture remain unchanged.

2017-18 Season: Archived - 26 October 2017

The Committee have released the fixtures for next season.

Make up of Divisions and Fixtures:

There will be 3 divisions as last season.

Division 1 will comprise 12 teams. Divisions 2 and 3 will have 13 teams each - Total 38.

The divisional league fixtures will be played over 26 weeks. Division 2 and 3 teams will have 2 bye weeks each, Division 1 teams will have 4 bye weeks.

The League fixtures will commence on 11th September 2017 and finish on 23th April 2018. Monday, 18th December 2017 has been set aside to establish a firm date for the annual Pairs Table Quiz to be arranged.

Click on the appropriate links below for further information:-
Division 1
Division 2
Division 3
Question Setting Roster

Division 2 - Team withdrawal: Archived - 13 October 2017

Please be aware that Black Bull B/H A have been unable to form a team and have left the League. League records have now been updated accordingly.

Division 1 - Team withdrawal:

Please be aware that White Cross B have been unable to form a team and have left the League. League records have now been updated accordingly.

Division 2 - Change of venue:

Apothecary has changed venue to the Brown Cow, Lancaster. League records have been updated accordingly.